This remuneration report outlines the philosophy, policy and details of the reward elements for the remuneration of Executive Directors/Officers, Executives and Non-Executive Directors of Tongaat Hulett. The reward philosophy has remained consistent with that previously approved at past annual general meetings (AGMs) in the non-binding advisory vote by shareholders, as required by King III. This will again be applied at the next AGM, in support of continued good governance.

The Remuneration Committee

The roles and responsibilities of the Remuneration Committee were determined and approved by the Board, as explained in the corporate governance section of this integrated annual report, which deals with Board committees, structures and responsibilities. The committee, which meets at least twice a year, is chaired by an independent non-executive director and consists only of non-executive directors. The current members are SG Pretorius (Chairman), N Mjoli-Mncube and CB Sibisi. PH Staude, as CEO, and CK Mokoena as the HR Executive, attend by invitation and MAC Mahlari is the secretary.

The overall objective of the Remuneration Committee is to propose, review and administer the broad policy for executive and director remuneration on behalf of the Board and the shareholders, in accordance with best corporate practice. It ensures alignment of the remuneration strategy and policy with the overall business strategy, desired company culture, shareholders’ interests and the sustainable commercial well-being of the business.

The committee is also responsible for, amongst others, considering and making recommendations to the Board on the remuneration policy and on the quantum, overseeing succession planning and retention, structure and composition of remuneration packages of executive directors and senior executives. In addition, it reviews general salary increases for management and the operation of the company’s management incentive schemes.

The major principles of the company’s remuneration philosophy and policies are set out here together with the relevant details of the remuneration of directors, officers and executives.